UCSF Department of Epidemiology & Biostatistics UCSF School of Medicine UCSF Search UCSF
 EPI 248
 Schedule
 Syllabus
 Roster
 Objectives
 Prerequisites
 Faculty
 Format
 Materials
 Grading
 Enrollment
 

Community Engaged Research
EPI 248 Fall 2018 (2 units)



OBJECTIVES

This course provides training in the theory and practice of engaging patients, members of the public, community-based organizations, and other stakeholders in health research, intervention design and implementation. The course introduces students to multiple engagement strategies by way of readings, guest speakers, case studies, and online discussions. Course instruction focuses on applying participatory research methods to existing or planned studies and implementation projects, and adapting health interventions to real-world contexts. Students will learn to situate community engagement practices and principles in historical, social and political contexts, and to critically evaluate the ways that engagement strategies shape the production of new knowledge.

At the end of the course, students will be able to:

  • Describe different approaches to engaging patients, the public, and community-based organizations in health research, intervention design and implementation;
  • Critically evaluate the benefits and limitations of different engagement methods in specific contexts;
  • Explain how engagement principles and strategies can influence research design, intervention development, data collection and evaluation activities, and implementation approaches;
  • Identify a range of potential community partners; and
  • Develop and justify a detailed plan for incorporating a community partnership into an existing or proposed research or implementation projec.
PREREQUISITES

Designing Clinical Research (EPI 202). Exceptions to this prerequisite may be made with the consent of the Course Director, space permitting.

FACULTY

Course Director: Sara Ackerman, MPH, PhD
Phone: 415-502-1760
email: sara.ackerman@ucsf.edu
Consulting Faculty: Kevin Grumbach, MD
Phone: 415-206-6892
email: kgrumbach@fcm.ucsf.edu
Guest Lectures: Charlotte Chang, DrPH
UC Berkeley
email: cychang@berkeley.edu
Purba Chatterjee, MPH
email: purba.chatterjee@ucsf.edu
Kayla Enriquez, MD
email: kayla.enriquez@ucsf.edu
Paula Fleischer, MA
email: paula.fleischer@ucsf.edu
Nat Gleason, MD
email: nathaniel.gleason@ucsf.edu
Jim Grieshop, PhD
UC Davis
email: jigrieshop@ucdavis.edu
Margaret Handley, PhD, MPH
email: margaret.handley@ucsf.edu
Julie Harris-Wai, PhD
email: julie.harris-wai@ucsf.edu
Maria Haverstock
Community Member
Anita Ho, PhD, MPH
University of British Columbia
email: anita.ho@ubc.ca
Margot Kushel, MD
email: margot.kushel@ucsf.edu
Courtney Lyles, PhD
email: courtney.lyles@ucsf.edu
Marsha Michie, PhD
Case Western Reserve University
email: marsha.michie@case.edu
Doriane Miller, MD
Univ. of Chicago Center for Community Health & Vitality
email: doriane.miller@uchospitals.edu
Tung Nguyen, MD
email: tung.nguyen@ucsf.edu
Greg Rebchook, PhD
email: greg.rebchook@ucsf.edu
Laura Schmidt, PhD
email: laura.schmidt@ucsf.edu
Scott Shipman, MD
American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC) email: scott.a.shipman@dartmouth.edu
Cho Hee Shrader, MPH
AIDS Project of the East Bay (APEB)
Pedro Vidal Torres, MPA
Tenderloin Safe Passage
Roberto Vargas, MPH
email: roberto.vargas@ucsf.edu


FORMAT

Weekly course content will be delivered via video lectures, case studies, and readings through the course CLE website. Students will post weekly assignments in online discussion forums, and provide/receive feedback through the online discussion forums and weekly in-person small group discussion sessions facilitated by course faculty.

MATERIALS

Required readings will be posted on the course website.

GRADING

Evaluation of student performance will be based on successful completion of weekly homework assignments and a final project, as well as participation in an online discussion forum and in-person small group sessions. To pass the course, learners must:

  • Post weekly assignments in the online discussion forums by the designated due date and time in 8 of 10 week;
  • Attend and participate in at least 8 of the 10 in-person weekly small group discussion sessions;
  • Provide thoughtful feedback via the online discussion forums to at least two others regarding their weekly assignments by the designated due date and time in 8 of 10 weeks; and
  • Submit a final completed assignment by the designated due date and time at the end of the course.

UCSF Graduate Division Policy on Disabilities

ENROLLMENT

This course is sponsored by the Training in Clinical Research (TICR) Program, and space is limited. Preference is given to UCSF-affiliated personnel. We regret that auditing is not permitted.

To apply for this course, please fill out and submit the application below. Please see our fees page for cost information. The deadline for application is September 7, 2018. Only one application needs to be completed for all courses desired during the quarter.

The application is best completed using the latest version of Firefox, Chrome or Safari.

APPLICATION